History of Telangana state and tourist places

History of Telangana state and tourist places

The name of Telangana state is derived from  "Trilinga Desa" which gradually transformed as Telangana below is the background from Wiki about name "Telangana"
Alexander Duncan Campbell (1789–1857), who authored the book A Grammar of the Teloogoo language (1816), mentions a theory suggesting that the name Telangana is derived from the word Trilinga, as in the Trilinga Desa, which translates to "the country of the three lingas". 
According to a Hindu legend, Shiva descended in the lingam form on three mountains, Kaleshwaram, Srisailam and Draksharama, which marked the boundaries of the Trilingadesa , later called Telinga, Telunga or Telugu.
The word "Telinga" changed over time to "Telangana" and the name "Telangana" was designated to distinguish the predominantly Telugu-speaking region of the erstwhile Hyderabad State from its predominantly Marathi-speaking one, Marathwada. After Asaf Jahis ceded the Seemandhra region to the British,
 the rest of the Telugu region retained the name Telingana and the other parts were called Madras Presidency's Circars and Ceded.

The earliest use of Telangadh, which means south, was found in the Gond script. One of the earliest uses of a word similar to Telangana can also be seen in a name of Malik Maqbul (14th century CE), who was called the Tilangani, which implies that he was from Tilangana. He was the commander of the Warangal Fort

Kakatiya Dynasty

Telangana has experienced a golden during the reign of the Kakatiya rule from 1083 to 1323 CE which is weakened with the attack of Malik Kafur in 1309 and was dissolved after the defeat of Prataparudra by the forces of Muhammad bin Tughluq in 1323

Telangana region has been ruled by great dynasties such as Sathavahanas, Kakatiyas, Chalukyas, Mughals, Qutubshahis, Asafjahis. Kakathiyas contributions to architecture are considered most impressive while Sathavahanas ruled Telangana region for about 400 years right from the 2nd century B.C. to beyond the 2nd century A.D. Among Kakathiyas, Prataparudra, was a great ruler who ruled till A.D.1323.

During the rule of Bahamani, Quli Qutub, born in Persia, came to Deccan and he had become the Governor of this region. Quli Qutub later became independent and formed his own Qutubshahi Dynasty in 1518. The Golkonda fort was built by Quli qutub. In his reign, two tanks such as Ibrahim Pantam tank and Hussainsagar were built including a bridge on river Musi, which is known as Puranapul. The Hindus of Telangana region remember him for his immense patronage of Telugu literature. Many Telugu poets such as Addanki Gangadhar Kavi, Panuganti Telanganarya, Kandukuri Rudra Kavi had flourished in his court.

Qutb Shahi and Asaf Jahi's rules

Qutubshah then shifted the capital from Golkonda to Hyderabad on the banks of the river Musi. He built the Jamia mosque at Charminar. The State of Hyderabad was eventually founded by Mir Qamruddin Chin Qilich Khan. Later, he conferred himself the title of Asaf Jah, by which title the dynasty is still known.

In 1799, the Nizam rulers aided the East India Company in their war with Tipu Sultan. When the Nizam was compelled to sign a subsidiary alliance with the British in the year 1799, he lost his authority over the state’s defence and its external affairs. The Nizam also had to give up the Coastal Andhra and the Rayalaseema regions of his vast kingdom to the British, as he was unable to pay monetarily for the assistance the British rendered during the Nizam’s wars against Tipu Sultan. Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema then became part of the British Presidency of Madras, while Telangana became part of the princely state of Hyderabad. For a long time, the Nizam lead a privileged and a charmed life. He was considered to be the world’s richest man of his time.

Nizam Mir Usman Ali Khan Bahadur was conferred with the title of “His Exalted Highness”. Geographically, Hyderabad commanded a pivotal position in the heart of India with a population of nearly sixteen million and an area of 82,000 square miles. Hyderabad boasted of its own coinage, paper currency and stamps. Soon after the announcement of India’s independence, the Nizam declared his intention not to send representatives to either the Constituent.

The Indian Government refused to entertain a request that Hyderabad would seek a separate status and Operation Polo was initiated to annex Hyderabad state. The Kannada and Marathi speaking areas of Hyderabad state was then merged with Karnataka and Maharashtra respectively while Telugu speaking region of Telangana was merged with Andhra state with Hyderabad as the capital of united Andhra Pradesh state in 1956. Although there was resentment against the merger, there was a period of calm.
After the promises made to respect the rights of Telangana were not fulfilled, a separate Telangana agitation was launched in 1969. Following subsequent Gentleman’s agreement and again a period of broken promises and injustice, Telangana movement was given a final push by Shri. K Chandrasekhar Rao in 2001 with the formation of TRS. Finally due to the whole hearted efforts of Telangana society and political parties, the Government of India agreed for creation of a separate Telangana state in July, 2013 and Telangana came into effect on June 2, 2014 as ‘Telangana state’, the 29th state of Indian Union

In Hyderabad Tour we can visit all the places of tourist spots

No comments:

Post a Comment

Top Blogs